PDA

View Full Version : New to FR4x4 from Firestone

TxTau
February 3rd, 2010, 09:21 PM
Whats up Front Range?! My name's Brad and I'm still pretty new to Colorado. I moved up here from Texas, right outside Houston, about 7 months ago. I know a few of you from other sites and have seen some of your rides around town.

I drive an 05 Ford Explorer, 4x4, 4.0L SOHC V6. Yeah, yeah its a soccer-mom, grocery-getter and will never see any real rocks, but she does do pretty well on moderate trails. So far ive put a PA-833 (from a 98 ranger) 3" body lift under her and plan on fabbin' up some strut spacers for another 2.5". It is independant front and back, hence why it will never see any difficult trails. Theres really no aftermarket products available so any other modifications will have to be custom. So im down for any pretty easy trail rides:fing:

So thats my daily driver. As far as my project truck goes I have an 88 FJ62. Still has the original 3FE under the hood and original trans both clockin 285K. This truck has been in the family for 20 yrs now, as my dad purchased circa 1990. What a great truck it has been, but it was time for my pops to get a new ride. So now the Cruiser is mine to fix up. Definitely needs new gaskets throughout the engine and a rebuilt trans is a must.

Enough blabbin from me, now onto the pics... (cant find any of the FJ62 so i'll have to post later)

http://i552.photobucket.com/albums/jj343/MillerTimeX17/IMG_6219800x600.jpg

http://i552.photobucket.com/albums/jj343/MillerTimeX17/IMG_6243800x600.jpg

Look forward to meeting you guys and wheelin with ya too!

Rob
February 3rd, 2010, 09:28 PM
Welcome. You'll be able to do a fair number of trails, even with independent all around, with the lift and good tires.