PDA

View Full Version : Easy stock run

Kepi
October 22nd, 2009, 07:06 PM
:help:

Hi everyone!
I have been a member here for a few months and have been scanning the runs that are being planned but haven't gone because most of them seem more advanced than I am ready for. I would like to plan a stock run on an easy but not boring trail and one that is close, in the next couple weeks before the snow gets too deep. Since this is my first time trying to plan anything like this I would welcome some suggestions on trails and how to do this thing. :)

Thanks!
Deb

Andrew
October 22nd, 2009, 07:33 PM
I recommend Pole Hill or Lefthand Canyon. Lefthand is near Boulder and it should not have all that much snow. It says it's a 4/5 trail but it really is not that hard. The harder stuff can be skipped, or you can try some to learn. I did it in my Xterra when it was completely stock.

If I can go, I would be happy to help you learn. Can't do Halloween weekend and this weekend I have plans so would have to be in November.

Funrover
October 22nd, 2009, 07:34 PM
I would say China Wall, just stay on FS212. Many of the stock friendly trails i know of have already started to get snowed on pretty good. Talk to Steph (Pathrat) about that trail and see what she thinks. I would feel comfortable taking the wifes Disco on it

Andrew
October 22nd, 2009, 07:36 PM
China Wall is fun but it is quite a drive to get there. I guess worse for me being up north.

Kepi
October 22nd, 2009, 07:42 PM
I have heard of lefthand canyon... that sounds promising. I could try and plan it for the first or second weekend in November. What kind of tools (i.e shovels, water, etc) are standard for off roading?

Ace
October 22nd, 2009, 07:45 PM
Check out www.traildamage.com

To add to above, for easier trails check out:

Bunce School Road
Johnny Park
Switzerland trail (VERY easy but nice drive)