PDA

View Full Version : Chinaman Gulch, May 9th

RZuk1
May 6th, 2009, 10:27 PM
My wife and I are thinking about doing a run down to Chinaman Gulch outside Buena Vista this weekend on Saturday, 5/09. I'm new here, so I've not tried to organize anything like this before. I think 9:30 at the Johnson Village Truck Stop before heading out to the trailhead would be a good time to meet. Gecko Cycles expressed some interest depending upon an axle project he has going on.

Just so all of you know, I have not run the full trail before so I will not be acting as official leader on the trail. However, I'm comfortable navigating from directions and maps and always enjoy a great adventure. Anyway, perhaps someone who's run the full trail before will step up and lead the way!

Hope we can get something together, and bear with me, for I'm a NEWBIE!

Rob

Funrover
May 6th, 2009, 10:32 PM
Have fun, I will be camping. Just take your time and you will be fine OCG is a fun trail!

4Runninfun
May 6th, 2009, 10:37 PM
Chinamans is a lot of fun just make sure you have someone to go with. that trail can put you in a sticky spot quick. I think many of us are going to be going on the 4 trails run.

RZuk1
May 7th, 2009, 12:06 PM
How does Chinaman Gulch compare to say, Wheeler Lake, Spring Creek, Golden Spike, or Holy Cross, just for comparison value since I am familiar with those trails?

Funrover
May 7th, 2009, 05:36 PM
How does Chinaman Gulch compare to say, Wheeler Lake, Spring Creek, Golden Spike, or Holy Cross, just for comparison value since I am familiar with those trails?

Chinamens is mors difficult than Wheeler, I have never done Golden Spike. It is more Continues obstacles but easier obstacles than Holy Cross. It really is a great trail. Look through pics/vids posted on this site for more ideas. I would rate OCG and Holy Cross pretty close together, French Creek makes HC more difficult.

RZuk1
May 7th, 2009, 06:25 PM