PDA

View Full Version : CB input

Mobyjeep
August 2nd, 2018, 07:41 PM
I am going to order a CB this week and need some input

im not sure if I should go with the cobra 75 Jeep jk kit from rightchannelradios.com
or midland 75-822 hh with a firestik antennae and piece everything together myself

any thoughts?

newracer
August 2nd, 2018, 07:58 PM
I have the Cobra and it has worked well for me. An additional speaker can help with the sound. I have no experience with the Midland but it looks nice.

Brian
August 2nd, 2018, 09:12 PM
+1 for the Cobra. Got it and a Firestick antenna. Tuned it and have had no problems. I like it because you can put the speaker next to your ear if need be since it's part of the hand set.

Tom
August 3rd, 2018, 06:26 AM
Ive the cobra 75wst in my Jk. It works well. The connect boxis in the comsole with a with a single wire running out the front. There is a moc mount that hooks in just under the glove box. I also have a speaker mounted on the sound bar right near my head. The antenna mounts by the spare. I will try to shoot some pics for you.
Search amazon for “cobra 75wxst mic mount”.

i like my ham radio much better than my cb though.

goSlo
August 3rd, 2018, 06:26 AM
Cobra + Firestik II here too, having a stereo unit with aux cable support is great.
Pipe the CB to the speakers of your rig.

Tom
August 3rd, 2018, 11:35 AM
Photos of my setup.
1. Inside of my console is the connection box. Power from the socket. Antenna and speaker wire come in under the back side of the console. Two holes inside the console.

2. Connection to the hand unit. One hole on the outside of the console. These are the only hits on your rig for the radio.

3. The grab bar mount I place the link in my earlier post. The yellow area is my mod to hold an HT. The blue rag disguises the head of my ham radio.