PDA

View Full Version : Turn signals and brake lights stopped working.

Colin
March 19th, 2013, 06:30 PM
My turn signals and brake lights quit working, both fuses are still intact and I replaced the flasher unit on the steering column, which didn’t help:mad: so I returned it. I think that I may have burned up a wire but I have little experience dealing with car electrics and don’t know what the next step for trouble shooting this problem is...That being said what should be my next step????

Also does anyone know of a shop that can resolve this issue for reasonable price?

Thanks in advance!

xaza
March 19th, 2013, 06:58 PM
If you have a test light it can simplify things. If not they are very cheap. Start by testing both sides of the fuse by attaching clip to a solid ground and touching tip to little prongs on fuse with brakes pressed. If it lights up then remove tail cover and bulb and test there. If no power, trace wire back looking for breaks. You can do this with sharp prong on test light, just have to poke it enough to get through casing every few feet until it lights up. Depending on access you may be able to trace from fuse panel back too....I'm assuming you already checked bulbs

Rob
March 19th, 2013, 07:02 PM
I'm assuming you already checked bulbs

If not, that's the place to start. Do your turn signal lights come on but not blink?

Tom
March 19th, 2013, 07:36 PM
If not, that's the place to start. Do your turn signal lights come on but not blink?
I agree check the bulbs. Dead bulb can stop other bulbs from flashing.

The StRanger
March 19th, 2013, 09:32 PM

Yes... If the fuse & flasher works, Start for the bulb and work foward
Make sure when youre pokin the wire with the probe put a little drop of sealent in the hole ...

Brad
March 19th, 2013, 10:32 PM
When are you available? I can come take a look. I have electrical expert certification and am great at tracking down issues. As I live in golden I am close. I don't recommend you drive without brake lights.