PDA

View Full Version : Home Made Sand Blast Cabinets: How To

Brody
December 3rd, 2011, 08:25 AM
Looking for the make of the sand blast cabinet that Jeff posted, I stumbled across this post (as well as quite a few other, simply Google the title). Since this has come up numerous times (ie: I need a sand blast cabinet) I decided to post this. Certainly isn't rocket science and would work just fine for most of the small parts that need blasting. I used to do this for a living, but that was with a huge blast room and/or outside blast area and on commercial job sites. I would love to have the space to set up something cheap like this.

As a addition to what this guy posted in regard to making the glass replaceable, consider using a roll of sheet clear sheet plastic under the glass so the you can simply move a new piece of plastic under the glass when the plastic gets pitted.

http://www.jalopyjournal.com/forum/showthread.php?t=143854

Java
December 3rd, 2011, 09:08 AM
that is really nice! I was expecting a POS but it looks awesome. you going to make one?

Brody
December 3rd, 2011, 09:21 AM
Alas, I have no room..

The way this guy made his looks like some of the smaller commercial ones that are also built around a 55 gallon container....and that cost around $500++. I thought it was quite creative. I have used very few small cabinets as almost all of the blast work I have done has been on semi trucks, earth equipment, bridges, tombstones, cars and buildings. I sure would find one handy as hell...

scout man
December 3rd, 2011, 01:53 PM
hmm, i have a few spare 55 gallon drums out in the barn. I might have to try this when I have some time on my hands... which doesnt sound likely unfortunately.

Brody
December 3rd, 2011, 02:22 PM