PDA

View Full Version : Winch won't work

Rob
October 16th, 2010, 09:25 PM
I spooled out my winch cable today to oil it and rewrap it. When I went to start spooling it in, it wouldn't work. Lessoned learned. I ended up removing the cable till I can get it fixed.

Question is: What's wrong with it? It's a Superwinch LP8500, with a sealed solenoid. When I hit the toggle, it clicks once. After toggling three or four times, it kicks the relay. Does that sound like a bad solenoid or a bad connection to the solenoid?

scout man
October 16th, 2010, 09:41 PM
sounds like a bad solenoid to me, but I am no expert. Hit it with a baseball bat, that'll fix it!! :wrench:

ok, not really

Chris
October 16th, 2010, 09:44 PM
This is the new one, right Rob? Just return it as defective.

Rob
October 16th, 2010, 09:57 PM
This is the new one, right Rob? Just return it as defective.

No, the new one is on the 40. This one's on the FJC and its nearing two years old. It only gets used when I wheel with you (and the last time I used it was on Yankee Hill with you and Ash). Tomorrow, I'm going to check and clean the ground connection. It looks like it might have some rust on it.

Chris
October 16th, 2010, 10:15 PM
Okay, yeah clean all connections. After you get it fixed we'll have to go out so you can use it again!

Patrolman
October 16th, 2010, 11:04 PM
Clean the connections. Also, bring up the RPM's a bit. That will bring up the voltage as well as the amps and may be enough power to trigger the solenoids. When I first got my winch on my 4Runner, it would only trigger the solenoids at 2000+ rpms. Turns out, the solenoids were 24v and the winch was 12v. An error at the factory as I bought it new. When the rpm got up high enough, the voltage was enough to trigger the solenoids and power the winch. ;)

Hypoid
October 17th, 2010, 12:34 AM