4x4
    Jeep Comanche
    User Name
    dscowell
    Real Name
    Dante
    Thanks Given

Default SAE Baja Buggy build

All of the students at Montana tech and I'd assume other engineering schools are required to do a senior project to graduate. Since I'm in the general department as a welding engineer I have the option of various mechanical, civil, electrical or welding projects. I decided to join the Baja team. Essentially the project is to build a buggy, bring it to the competition and race against other schools. Tech doesn't have a ton of money like other schools so we upgrade the buggy every year instead of building one from scratch.

The competition is, for the most part, a 4-hour endurance race but it also involves a suspension, maneuverability, sled pull, and acceleration test as well as the endurance race. Our goal this year is to place top 25 since the team last year placed 26.

The buggies runs on a 10hp engine and a dual clutch gearbox much like a snowmobile. It's nothing amazing but for a bunch of students, it's more than plenty. Our goal for modifying the buggy this year is the decrease the weight from 450lbs to 400lbs. Lift the buggy up and inch or two. Increase the handling characteristics and tweak the gearbox depending on what we want to do with it.

I only have one picture of it from last years group since I have not had time in my schedule yet to see it. As we work on it I'll keep this forum updated and come competition time (Mid May I believe) I will update on how we do.

2. The Following 2 Members Say Thanks to dscowell For This Post:

alanmikkelsen (September 17th, 2018),Java (September 9th, 2017)

Last Online
    December 8th, 2020
    4x4
    '97 Ford Explorer XLT
    User Name
    ExplorerTom
    Real Name
    Tom
    Thanks Given

Default Re: SAE Baja Buggy build