4x4
    2000 Jeep Wrangler
    User Name
    Captain
    Real Name
    Kyle
    Thanks Given

Default 9th Annual Aussie Run! Sat. 9/10 - Deer Creek & Saints John

OK, here we go again! The ninth annual Aussie Run will be held on Saturday, September 10, 2016. If you want to go wheeling and have an empty seat or two (or more), this is a fun event! This year we'll meet in Keystone at 9:00am (in the NW corner of the parking lot south of Gondola Rd.) and run Deer Creek and Saints John, with a possible alternate route up Radical Hill. It's got some spectacular scenery, has an easy meeting spot, and it's hard to beat it for a place to eat lunch (with mountain goats)!

What is the Aussie Run?
    Well, as some of you know, I’m an elementary school teacher. In 2006, I participated in a teacher exchange to Australia. Basically, an Australian teacher and I swapped jobs and houses for a year. While my wife and I were there, we were constantly amazed at how people went out of their way to show us their favorite parts of that incredible country. When I got back, I vowed I would do the same thing for the Aussies on exchange to Colorado, and the Aussie Run was born. I got some willing volunteers together (you awesome folks) who had a few empty seats in their rigs, piled in some teachers and their families, and had a great day wheeling in the Colorado mountains.

How does it work?
    I compile a list of volunteer drivers who have available seats in their rigs, and passengers who want to ride along. We meet in an easy-to-find place, match up passengers with drivers, and head out for the trails. It’s usually a full day with lunch on the trail, and returning to the meeting spot around 4pm. After that, people have often stopped for dinner or drinks on the way home, but that’s up to each individual.

Things to be aware of: