4x4
    75 International Scout
    User Name
    scout man
    Real Name
    Steve
    Thanks Given

Default overheating issue

I am having a problem with the scout 345 v8. It keeps overheating at an idle. Started a few months ago, and seems to be becoming more of a problem. I can cruise up a mountain pass at almost redline with no problem, but if it sits and idles for a few minutes the coolant will boil out of the reserve reservoir. I even have an auxilliary electric fan in front of the radiator, and even with that on it will over heat at idle. I noticed the last time it happened, that the upper radiator hose was bulging really bad, and about to explode. Also frightening, I noticed last time that the fuel in my inline filter, which is at the front of the block, appeared to be boiling. I am not hugely knowledgable when if comes to engine stuff. SO what am I probably looking at here, water pump? clog somewhere? thanks!

I am no mechanic, but if your coolant is boiling I think it may be a clog somewhere as it is letting the fluid sit to a boiling point. Sorry I cannot be more help.

Last Online
    December 19th, 2020
    4x4
    2008 FJ Cruiser/1982 FJ40
    User Name
    Rob
    Real Name
    Rob
    Thanks Given

Rmart74 previously posted:
    "I think it may be a clog somewhere"

I'm no mechanic, either, but that'd be my vote.

Last Online
    July 16th, 2016
    4x4
    1988 K5 1999 MX5
    User Name
    Robert B
    Real Name
    Robert
    Thanks Given

the weird part is if ur moving its fine??? maybe the water pump is working then for somereason but not at idle ?? or it is pumping badly and at redline the speed it is turning is overcoming the bad pumping ?? ahh i know its kinda waste of gas but can you sit still and run it at say 2 or 3 thousand rpm for a few mins and its fine ??? but let it drop to idle and see if it will then overheat ......

Last Online
    August 31st, 2019
    4x4
    1978 Bronco
    User Name
    Cr33p3r
    Real Name
    Sean