Thread: 3.4L OBDII code deciphering help

Last Online
    August 9th, 2012
    User Name
    Brody
    Real Name
    Pete Brody

Default 3.4L OBDII code deciphering help

OK, I admit I am not a rocket scientist when it comes to the newer electronic EFI junk, but I think I can even recognize bad news when I see it. Someone tell me differently...

So my rig has had a starting problem for awhile. I took the time to go through all of the electric junk from the batteries forward, cleaning off all the connectors, replacing grounds, etc., etc. all the way up to the the electronic stuff. While I was doing this, I also took the time to replace all the fuses and all the relays. It still didn't start, but not for lack of juice.

Next I decided to go through the whole fuel system, checking the fuel pump, replacing the filter, draining the tank, blowing out the fuel return line, etc. Now I have a handy dandy access panel cut through my truck bed for fuel pump access and know that the WalPro 190 fuel pump I stuck in there 6 years ago works like a charm..

Anyway, I was now down to the electronics...(did I mention I know dick about them?)..not to mention the fact that to get to the ECM and have at least a little room to work, I had to remove the seat, the speaker, half of the dash, the glove box, the heater motor, six years of under dash dust (tube doors half the year make for a nice mess. I was surprised that I didn't have moles living under the dash..)...you get the picture..

I decided today to go down to the local Checkers and make use of their rent a tool program. I grabbed an OBDII reader, sans instructions, hooked it up and the very first OBDII code I have ever read in my life was this one:

DTC P1600 ECM BATT Malfunction

A03375
    Battery
    R/B No. 2
    E5
    ECM
    BATT
    B–Y
    IF1
    W EFI
    B–Y
    DIAGNOSTICS – ENGINE (5VZ–FE)
    DI–279
    2002 TOYOTA TACOMA (RM921U)
    DTC P1600 ECM BATT Malfunction
    CIRCUIT DESCRIPTION